Choose Grace: 3-Minute Devotions for Women By: Ellyn Sanna, Joanna Bloss

My review of: Choose Grace: 3-Minute Devotions for Women by: Ellyn Sanna, Joanna Bloss

Barbour Publishing, Inc.

Barbour Books

Choosing GraceThis was a timely read for me as I am involved in a Bible study whose topic is grace. These short (3 minute reads) are designed for women, but men would certainly benefit from them.

Each one opens with a scripture written out and referenced. Then the short devotion follows. A written prayer ends the selection. Each part of the structure works with the other. Sometimes, I have read devotions where the referenced scripture and the devotion itself do not seem to have anything in common. That is not the case in Choose Grace: 3-Minute Devotions for Women. Also, each Scripture referenced has the translation used. I for one like to know the translation used.

Since each devotion has three parts, I would think the idea is to spend a minute meditating on each part. Thus, 3-minute devotions. I have quite a few highlighted sections in my copy and have shared several quotes from the book with my Bible study.

I did not count how many devotions there are, but I did notice that each one was titled. For example “Blessing Others,” “Sound Advice,” “Alone time with God.” It would be nice if there was a table of contents listing these so that if a topic catches your eye it could be found easily. Perhaps that could be included in a future edition. There is a handy index in the back of the book which has all the referenced scripture.

I would recommend this book. I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

