One to Five By Ryan Scott

 

onetofivePrior to getting this cookbook for review, I did not know who Ryan Scott was. Reading the forward by Rachel Ray gave me a little clue, but then I did what everyone else does – I googled him. So now I know he appears on Ray’s show, has been on Top Chef and has a couple of shows on the LiveWell network. He also has a couple of restaurants in San Francisco.

The concept of his book, One to Five is that he gives you one basic recipe from which you can then make five other dishes   He is all about regular, normal foods, but he does do some fresh new takes on those foods. One example is what he does with one box white cake mix. Using his recipes where that cake mix is the foundation he shows how to make waffles, streusel, bars, churros and cookies.

Mr. Scott encourages the home cook to be creative while still keeping it simple. He uses what most everyone either has in their pantry or can easily purchase. And it is food that you normally purchase – cake mix, a head of cauliflower, a head of broccoli or a package of biscuit dough. Throughout the book, there are small tidbits of information called “Extra Credit” which are suggestions such as how to serve the dish.

At the beginning of the book is an excellent section on what the home cook needs in their kitchen. He covers staples for your pantry and freezer and equipment. I was pleasantly surprised while reading this section that I had most everything listed. This made me like the cookbook right off the bat. I previously reviewed a cookbook that had the premise of making a week’s worth of meals with one ingredient as the basis. You spend most of Sat. and Sun cooking for the week ahead. It was billed as being for everyday folks.  Well, I don’t spend two days cooking for the coming week with some ingredient that I had to search all over to buy. All the recipes in One to Five should be able to be prepped and cooked in an hour or less.

This book being published by Time, Inc. is scheduled for publication on Oct. 25, 2016.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

