My review of: A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

 

Ms. Reay is a new author foaportraitofemilypricer me and A Portrait of Emily Price is a definite keeper. I read it on a Kindle app and at one point it seemed like the book was coming to a close. I checked my progress and realized I was only halfway through it. Yippee! That is one of those pleasant surprises you don’t get with a book in hand.

All the characters were well thought out and well presented to the reader. The story itself is not the usual girl meets boy/run from each other/fall into bed/have conflict/happy ending. That in itself was refreshing. Time was taken to build not only the story but the characters.

It will introduce the reader to the world of art restoration. It will take the reader from the US to Italy. It will leave the reader wondering about what in the past caused certain characters to be the way they are.

At first, I wanted the back story on Emily and her sister Amy. What happened in their lives to make them the way they were? But then I realized that not knowing, made the growth of the characters, especially Emily all the better.

And the food…from the first meal at Piccolo to the last meal in Italy, it was a culinary delight. It’s a shame there is no way to try Ben’s pizza.

Underlining all that was a story of love, betrayal, inspiration, forgiveness, new beginnings, and acceptance.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

