Twilight at Blueberry Barrens (Sunset Cove #3) by Colleen Coble

 

twilightatblueberrybarrensMs. Coble is a new author for me. After beginning the book and getting thoroughly lost with who was who, I found out it is the third in a series. While I persevered, it was evident that reading the first two would give a reader an advantage.

It reminded me of a very early Mary Higgins Clark book. There are lots of twists and turns and a lot of good descriptions of the action. It is suspenseful with good characterization. Where it fell short for me was in the closing action. I won’t spoil it, but the whole scene in the woods toward the end wasn’t described as well as other parts. When it comes to scenes like that, they should read like you are watching the movie, playing out in your mind. For me it didn’t flow like that. Rather it seemed like the director stopped the action, re-focused and started again. It was hard to keep up with the actions.

That said, I’ll be looking for the first two in the series so that I can fill in the gaps. I enjoyed getting to know Kate, Drake, the girls and the sheriff. And the Maine setting pulled me in. If you don’t get caught up in having to know the backstory, then Twilight at Blueberry Barrens could be a good standalone read.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

Goodreads Stars = 3

 

Leave a Reply

