My review of: More-with-Less Cookbook, 40th Anniversary Edition By: Doris Janzen Longacre with Rachel Marie Stone

More with Less

Years ago, I bought the original More-with-Less, but many moves and many years resulted in a missing copy. I don’t remember if I made any of the recipes, but I do remember enjoying perusing the book. I was happy to receive a PDF copy of the book published by Herald Press and received through NetGalley.

More-with-Less Cookbook was never just a cookbook. It was and is a roadmap into how to view and react to food and the world.  Just how much do we need in order to live? When does having enough change to wanting too much? What should be done to even out the resources available in the world?

These questions and more are addressed in Part I of the book. The answers are there also. Part II is the recipes and there are lots. Some are simple like Brown Gravy (meat drippings, flour, sugar, salt, and pepper). Others are more challenging such as Fried Squash Blossoms. In that case, the challenge might be finding the squash blossoms.

Features such as “gather up the fragments” are filled with ways to use parts of foods that might otherwise be thrown away. Maybe “my” idea for freezing those bits of left-over corn and green beans and using them to make soups and stews actually came from my lost copy.

Recipes that are vegetarian and gluten free are marked. In some cases, the history behind a particular dish is explained like Fruit Moos. And no, there are no cows (moos) involved.

I would highly recommend More-with-Less Cookbook, 40th Anniversary Edition to anyone who cares about food, the deliciousness of food, the waste of food and the impact how we use food affects others.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

