My review for Salad in a Jar: 68 Recipes for Salads and Dressings by Anna Helm Baxter

Salad in a JarSalad in a jar was a fairly new idea for me. I’d seen some Pinterest ideas, but they didn’t convince me to actually make one. Anna Helm Baxter has changed that. Her recipes are for normal people, the ingredients aren’t hard to shop for and the ancillary information such as what benefits each salad has was very helpful.

The dressings were a pleasant surprise. I have started making my own dressing instead of buying at the grocery store. I want to know what is in the dressings. The dressings in this book will be aiding me to accomplish that.

I wish a little more time had been spent on the kind of jars one should use. I have read other reviews and the assumption is that Mason jars are being used. With wanting to re-purpose items that come into my home, I wonder if any of my jar collection would work or do I need to purchase canning jars.

Also, being retired now, I’m trying to figure out what occasion I would make a salad in a jar. For people taking their meals from home to work, I can certainly see the advantage.

The pictures were quite nice and what one has come to expect from Ten Speed Press.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you

Leave a Reply

