Review of My (Part-Time) Paris Life: How Running Away Brought Me Home by Lisa Anselmo

My (Part time) Paris LifeI have never been to Paris. I never wanted to travel to Paris. I never thought there would be any reason to change that. Then I read My (Part-Time) Paris Life: How Running Away Brought Me Home by Lisa Anselmo. Now I feel like I have been to at least a little bit of Paris and I loved it.

Ms. Anselmo is a very good writer. After the death of her beloved mother, she began making a new life for herself in Paris. She was open and frank about her fears and weaknesses. She didn’t mind showing it to the reader.

I think I gained 10 pounds just reading her descriptions of all the wonderful food. Even though she didn’t have the greatest command of the French language she learned to put herself out there to the locals and generally found common ground.

As she builds her new life in Paris, she also faces some major life changing events in New York. After a bit of indecision, she is able turn the events into something positive.

Not only did Ms. Anselmo write a book that can transport you back and forth from NYC to Paris, she does it without the jet lag. The end of the book seemed just a jumping off place for a new positive, peaceful life.

I highly recommend My (Part-Time) Paris Life.

I received a free copy of the book from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

