Review of Late Harvest Havoc

Late HarLate Harvest Havocvest Havoc

This was my introduction to Benjamin Cookson and his assistant Virgile  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them in Jean-Pierre Alaux and Noël Balen’s Late Harvest Havoc.  It won’t be my last encounter.

The storyline takes place mostly in Alsace, France. The buildings, churches, countryside, and vineyards were unfamiliar to me. I spent some time googling many of the locations, hotels, and restaurants. It made the already good descriptions come to life.

The solution to the mystery was somewhat telegraphed, but that took nothing away from my enjoyment of the book.  I learned about tastings and vineyards and what a competitive occupation it is.  The blurb of the book summed it up nicely, so I won’t try to add to it.

I look forward to reading the series from the start. I’m sure there are much background tidbits that would have enhanced the experience of Late Harvest Havoc.

I received a free copy of Late Harvest Havoc from NetGalley in exchanged for my honest review. Thank you.

8.15.16

Leave a Reply

